This forum is officially closed. It will however remain online and active in a limited form for the time being.

Hi! Which deck to start with?

Informal discussions of individual Tarot Decks.
Forum rules
This is the forum for discussions about and to show individual decks. Full reviews and "Unboxing" videos should go into the Reviews forum.

Please note that Historical Decks have their own separate forum and those discussions are best placed there.
Thecuriousone
Seeker

Hi! Which deck to start with?

Post by Thecuriousone »

Hi everyone,

I am pretty new to tarot cards after recently receiving a reading from someone and becoming hooked haha.

I have been looking about for a deck of my own but not really sure which one is best for starting out as I obviously dont want something difficult I wont be able to understand.

I am going to pick one of these pre order decks but which one would you recommend for starting with?

Https://www.giftincredible.co.uk/mystical-spiritual
Blissful
Seeker

Re: Hi! Which deck to start with?

Post by Blissful »

A lot of people say a beginner must start with either the classic Rider-Waite (with art by Pamela Colman-Smith) or the Thoth decks, but I don't think that's necessary. Out of the ones on that page to which you linked, I would say either Tarot of the Old Path or the Pre-Raphaelite Tarot. They are both gorgeous to look at and it appears they follow Rider-Waite fairly closely (Old Path being more Pagan), which will make it easy if you will be using guidebooks based on it, but they also have some unique elements and are richly pregnant with symbolism. Oh, and if you like cats, Tarot of the Pagan Cats is pretty great and follows Rider-Waite closely. There are cats in every card, no humans!

So, out of the decks on that page, I recommend for you:
  1. Pre-Raphaelite
  2. Old Path
  3. Pagan Cats