This forum is officially closed. It will however remain online and active in a limited form for the time being.

Upright/reversed

Discussion of the symbolism, history and how to read with the Marseilles
Laiste
Seeker

Upright/reversed

Post by Laiste »

Hi!

I’m totally new to TdM. I fell in love with it just recently by looking at a YT-video from Tarot Map. I bought the Noblet version from Flornoy but was wondering how you know what is the upright and reversed sides of the pips? Especially the deniers and batons...

Any Info or good links?

Thank you very much in advance!!!
Belenus
Seer

Re: Upright/reversed

Post by Belenus »

Laiste, the simplest answer is that you can't tell the difference. Why? Because the traditional decks such as the TdM were never meant to be read with reversals. They did not create the cards with a design that easily indicated a reversed state - simply because it was never a part of the tradition at that point, and thus there was no need to make it so. Thus, each individual card contains the full range of meanings, from high to low, positive to negative.

The only thing you can do, if you must read reversals, is when your deck is first unsealed - all the cards are upright. Go through the Epees, Batons, and Deniers and make some type of a tiny mark in one corner of each card, e.g., a little black dot in the lower right corner. Then when you deal you can locate the dot and know if that card is reversed or not. But that is a lot of work.

But again, these decks were never meant to be read with reversals. Reversed cards is a much later addition to the tarot tradition - almost 300 years after the first tarot decks were produced. The vast majority of TdM readers in today's world still do not use reversals.

all the best to you!
Belenus
"vocatus atque non vocatus deus aderit"
Charlie Brown
Sage

Post by Charlie Brown »